history

THE HISTORY OF MAYBROOK

Maybrook Mansion was first built in 1881 as a summer home for distiller and business magnate Henry Gibson. The historic Philadelphia structure was named by combining his daughter’s name, May, with the stream that ran across the 36-acre property. Explore below to learn more about our storied 36-acre property.

1881

Property Finishes Construction

1889-07-06

New Wing Added

1891-01-01

New Ownership

1901-04-21

New Ballroom Designed

1920-05-05

Renovation and Expansion

1956-05-05

Property Sold

2016-02-12

Maybrook Construction Begins

2017

Grand Opening